+977-014111291, 014111311, 9851089308

Marvellous UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Nepal

August 13, 2023
Marvellous UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Nepal

Situated in the slope of Himalayas , the landlocked country Nepal is the home to UNESCO. Nepal is a country rich in cultural and natural heritage, and it's home to several marvelous UNESCO World Heritage Sites.Here are some of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal.

  1. Kathmandu Durbar Square
  2. Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  3. Patan Durbar Square
  4. Swayambhunath(The Monkey Temple) 
  5. Pashupatinath
  6. Boudhanath
  7. Changunarayan
  8. Lumbini: The Birthplace of Lord Buddha
  9. Chitwan National Park
  10. Sagarmatha National Park

1. Kathmandu Durbar Square

This historic square in the heart of Kathmandu is surrounded by palaces, courtyards, and temples that showcase the intricacies of traditional Newari architecture. The Hanuman Dhoka Palace, Kumari Ghar (home to the living goddess Kumari), and various other temples are highlights.

Facts about Kathmandu Durbar Square

  • Served as the royal palace complex for Malla kings from the 12th to 18th century.
  • Showcases intricate Newari woodwork, pagoda-style temples, palaces, and courtyards.
  • Main palace building with Nasal Chowk courtyard and ornate wooden carvings.
  • Home to important structures like Taleju Temple, Kumari Ghar, Jagannath Temple, and Kal Bhairav Temple.
  • Kumari Ghar is the residence of the living goddess Kumari, who occasionally blesses the public from a window.
  • Heavily damaged in the 2015 earthquakes; ongoing restoration efforts to preserve heritage.
  • Designated in 1979 as part of the Kathmandu Valley's cultural significance.
  • Venue for traditional processions, festivals, ceremonies, and cultural performances.
  • Draws visitors worldwide for its historical and architectural allure.
  • Located centrally in Kathmandu, surrounded by narrow streets and markets.

2. Bhaktapur Durbar Square

Located in the city of Patan (Lalitpur), this square is known for its rich display of Newari art and architecture. The Palace of the Malla kings, Krishna Mandir, and various shrines are major attractions.

Facts about Bhaktapur Durbar Square

  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square was the royal palace complex of the Malla kings who ruled the Bhaktapur kingdom.
  • prominent palace building known for 55-Window Palace
  • Nyatapola Temple: A five-story pagoda-style temple dedicated to Siddhi Lakshmi, a Hindu goddess, known for its grandeur and artistic details.
  • Dattatreya Square: A separate square within Bhaktapur Durbar Square with the Dattatreya Temple, a wooden pavilion, and a peacock window.
  • The square remains a vibrant hub for festivals, events, and cultural practices.
  • Draws visitors for its cultural richness, historical value, and architectural splendor.

3. Patan Durbar Square

Located in the city of Patan (Lalitpur), this square is known for its rich display of Newari art and architecture. The Palace of the Malla kings, Krishna Mandir, and various shrines are major attractions.

Facts about Patan Durbar Square

  • A prominent temple dedicated to Lord Krishna, known for its detailed stone carvings and artistic beauty.
  • Sundari Chowk: A courtyard featuring elegant wood and stone carvings, surrounding the Mul Chowk.
  • Golden Temple (Hiranya Varna Mahavihar): A Buddhist monastery adorned with gold-plated metalwork and elaborate wood carvings.

4. Swayambhunath(The Monkey Temple) 

Situated at the top of a hill in west of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath is an ancient stupa and one of the most sacred Buddhist sites in Nepal. The white dome with a gilded spire is surrounded by prayer wheels and shrines.

  • Swayambhunath is an ancient Buddhist stupa located top of a hill at west of Kathmandu, Nepal.
  • "Swayambhunath" means "Self-Created One," suggesting the stupa's mysterious origins.
  • The stupa has both Buddhist and Hindu significance, making it a harmonious site for worship by both communities.
  • The stupa is adorned with a pair of eyes on all four sides, known as the "All-Seeing Eyes of Buddha." They symbolize wisdom and compassion.
  • Visitors can find prayer wheels surrounding the stupa, and spinning them is believed to bring blessings and merit.
  • The site is known for its resident population of monkeys, which has earned it the nickname "Monkey Temple."

 5. Pashupatinath

Situated along the banks of the Bagmati River, this Hindu temple complex is dedicated to Lord Shiva. It's a significant pilgrimage site and a place where many Hindu rituals, including cremation ceremonies, take place.

Facts about Pashupatinath

  • Pashupatinath is a revered Hindu temple complex dedicated to Lord Shiva, one of the principal deities in Hinduism.
  • It holds immense spiritual importance for Hindus and is considered one of the holiest pilgrimage sites in Nepal and South Asia.
  • Situated on the banks of the Bagmati River in the Kathmandu Valley, Pashupatinath is a central hub for religious activities and ceremonies.
  • The main temple follows a pagoda-style architecture with intricate wood carvings and golden roofs.
  • The temple enshrines a sacred Shiva lingam, a symbol representing Lord Shiva's divine energy and creative force.
  • Pashupatinath is also known as the "Lord of Animals".
  • The temple complex is particularly lively during the Maha Shivaratri festival, a major Hindu festival dedicated to Lord Shiva.

6. Boudhanath

This colossal stupa is one of the largest in the world and is a focal point for Tibetan Buddhism in Nepal. It features a massive mandala, prayer flags, and numerous monasteries.

7. Changunarayan

Changu Narayan is one of the oldest Hindu temples in Nepal, dating back to the 4th century. It holds historical and cultural significance.The temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu, a major deity in Hinduism. The main deity is Vishnu in his incarnation as Narayana.

8. The Birthplace of Lord Buddha

Lumbini is a pilgrimage site for Buddhists and a place of historical significance. It is believed to be the birthplace of Siddhartha Gautama, who later became known as Buddha. The site includes the Maya Devi Temple, the Ashoka Pillar, and several monasteries built by various Buddhist communities.

9. Chitwan National Park

Chitwan National Park is a biodiverse area in the lowland Terai region of Nepal. It's home to numerous species of wildlife, including the endangered one-horned rhinoceros, Bengal tigers, elephants, and various bird species. Visitors can explore the park through jungle safaris and river excursions.

10. Sagarmatha National Park

This park, named after the Nepali name for Mount Everest (Sagarmatha), is located in the Khumbu region. It's a stunning area of rugged mountains, glaciers, and deep valleys. Aside from Everest, other notable peaks include Lhotse, Nuptse, and Ama Dablam.

Roshi Tours & Travels Pvt. ltd.
  • Kathmandu, Nepal
  • +977-014111291, 014111311, 9851089308
  • travelroshi@gmail.com
Associated With

Associated With
  • ass1.png
  • ass2.png
  • ass3.png
  • ass4.png
Payment Options
  • pay1.png
  • pay2.png
  • pay4.png
  • pay3.png
  • pay5.png
  • 2019-12-11-1.png
  • 2019-12-11-1-2.png